Knee Pain After Aerobic Workout — Looking For Advice

jutadawg

Expert Member
Media
Sexuality
90% Straight, 10% Gay
Been doing more walking with my wife 30-60 minutes most days plus some aerobic exercise stuff on my Apple fitness app. Been enjoying it a lot and I don’t want to stop. But I’m getting twingy little knee pain after that lasts the rest of the evening (usually better next day). When I described it to my health/PE teacher coworker, she said it was a little patellar tendinitis.

I’m feeling good about the exercising and don’t want to stop. But I don’t want to be dumb and fuck up my knee.

Any suggestions?

ocellarus

Legendary Member
Verified
Gold
Media
Verification
View
Sexuality
80% Straight, 20% Gay
health/PE teacher coworker, she said it was a little patellar tendinitis.

I'm not a health professional, but I'm inclined to agree with your coworker. Most tendonitis is going to stem from overuse, so your desire to not to stop going might need to get tempered a bit. That being said, if you absolutely will not take a break, or ease into your schedule more (cutting back on duration), here are a few ideas:

1. Check your footwear. You're probably wearing old-ish athletic shoes that aren't designed for walking. If we weren't in a pandemic I'd say go to a store & get fitted, but we are so you're gonna need to make do otherwise. Measure your feet as best you can and think about adding a half size if you choose to get a new pair. Your toes need room to wiggle while you're walking and shoes that are too tight prevent that.
  2. Think about good walking form. Maybe seems like a no brainer, but keeping good posture, swinging your arms and moving your foot heel to toe are important.
  3. Start with a warmup. Even walking for a whole hour is actually fairly taxing, so consider doing some light exercise: lunge squats, arm rotations, etc.