Lets Pretend To Be Rocket Scientists....

seventiesdemon

Superior Member
Gold
Platinum Gold
Media
Sexuality
69% Straight, 31% Gay
This is the latest Elon venture to crack the vertical landing Rocketship.

I think there are a few things which are glaringly obvious why this won't work, the way they are trying to do it me thinks is a bit arse about....but I'm not a rocket scientist....

It's interesting to watch. The goal is to see if you might have the design which can land a 2 to 300 tonne Rocketship dropping at between 2 and 3 hundred KPH ....stopping it in less than 1000 metres.

Weeeeeelllll, it stops, but not the way they hoped for.

I wouldn't be asking this if they had achieved it.

SpaceX fires up SN10 Starship prototype for 1st time to prep for test flight | Space

Reactions: ronin001

seventiesdemon

Superior Member
Gold
Platinum Gold
Media
Sexuality
69% Straight, 31% Gay
A good advance in aviation science. I just wish TESLA stock was not falling the past few weeks
Stocks go up, and come down, sometimes they crash. Just like rockets :)

The thing which concerns me a bit is that ships have not had the need to take large quantities of fuel into space for reentry purpose. It's always been fall, glide or parachute to land. Little use for propellant.

I hope Elon has a good insurance company....there are trillions of $'s invested in space. The potential for one of these huge birds laden with propellant for landing to ignite in orbit, low Earth through atmosphere orbit is very real. It would place enough debris in orbit to take out a great number of other craft, probably make it impossible to launch anything from Earth safely for a long time. As well as difficult for communication and navigation on the planet.

Taking risks ok, but I don't think this one has really been though out all that well if you're going to play rocket ships, cause if it goes wrong, it's not possible to clean it up.